

## **PRESS RELEASE**

CONTACT Melissa Haynes Marshall Education Foundation (903)930-7415 info@backthemavs.com backthemays.com

## Marshall Education Foundation Accepting Nominations for 2020 Distinguished Alumni Award

[MARSHALL, TEXAS, MAY 11, 2020] The Marshall Education Foundation has announced that it is now accepting nominations for the 2020 Marshall High School Distinguished Alumni Award. This year's award is sponsored by McKool Smith – Sam Baxter and will be presented at The Maverick Honors dinner and recognition ceremony Tuesday, June 9. The winner need not be present to accept the award. It will be shipped to their home following the ceremony.

The award was created in 2019 to honor MHS alumni each year who are noted in their field of endeavor or recognized for their expertise and good works by their peer and others. Nominees must have graduated from Marshall High School at least ten years ago and must have distinguished themselves through achievement, service, or contributions to society.

The 2019 Award recipient was Dr. Bettina F. Drake, a 1997 graduate of MHS. She serves as a tenured professor at Washington University School of Medicine and Siteman Cancer Center in St. Louis, MO. After graduating from Marshall High School, Dr. Drake earned a BS in biochemistry from Baylor University. She earned a master's of public health degree from University of North Texas Health Sciences Center, a Ph.D. in epidemiology from University of South Carolina and completed post-doctoral studies at Harvard University.

Nomination forms are posted on the Marshall Education Foundation's website at backthemavs.com and can be submitted to info@backthemavs.com. All nominations must be received no later than May 26, 2020. For more details about the Marshall Education Foundation, Maverick Honors, or the Distinguished Alumni Award, please email info@backthemavs.com.